Virginia Museum of Fine Arts <u>Draft</u> Minutes of the Art and Collections Committee Meeting Wednesday, December 4, 2024, 9:00am Claiborne Robertson Room

There were present:

Melinda Hardy, Chair

Cindy Conner

Anne Noland Edwards, virtual (personal-travel)

Emily Franklin

Janet Geldzahler virtual (medical-caregiver)

Marianne Littel

Sara O'Keefe virtual (personal-residence)

Anne Smith

Lynette Allston, Trustee President, Ex-officio

Absent:

Matt Cooper

Tom Papa

By Invitation:

Alex Nyerges, Director and Chief Executive Officer

Kay Baker

Dayal Baxani

Caprice Bragg

David Cary

Stephanie Cooperstein

Courtney Freeman

Andrew Harris

Jan Hatchette

Sally Marvin

Marie Royce

Michael Taylor

Iya Tsykot

I. CALL TO ORDER

Committee Chair Melinda Hardy called the meeting to order at 9:02am.

II. MINUTES APPROVAL

Motion: Proposed by Hardy and seconded by Cindy Conner to approve the minutes of the

September 24, 2024 Art and Collections Committee meeting as distributed. Motion

carried.

III. GALLERY DEINSTALLATION PLANS

Dr. Michael Taylor, Artistic Director and Chief Curator, reported that as part of preparations for expansion construction in August 2025, the west terrace will need to be demolished. Artworks will be deinstalled from certain galleries and relocated away from construction activity, in a climate-controlled space. Dr. Taylor outlined the timeline for deinstallation and noted the collections that will be affected.

IV. GIANTS: ART FROM THE DEAN COLLECTION OF SWIZZ BEATZ AND ALICIA KEYS

Dr. Taylor presented information about an upcoming special exhibition *Giants: Art from the Dean Collection of Swizz Beatz and Alicia Keys*, which will be on view at VMFA from November 22, 2025 to March 1, 2026. This exhibition contains 130 works of art and explores "monumental art and the art of living monumentally." The exhibition is aligned with the 2025 Strategic Plan and should engage new audiences.

V. OTHER BUSINESS/ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn the meeting was made, seconded, and approved by the committee at 9:26am.

Recorded by: Stephanie Cooperstein, Executive Administrator