Date: _____ Approved: _____

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Museum Expansion Committee Meeting Minutes The Pauley Parlor, 9:00 am Wednesday, February 17, 2010

There were present:

Dr. Herbert A. Claiborne, Jr., Chair Robert L. Burrus, Jr. W. Birch Douglass III William M. Grace Stanley F. Pauley S. Pierce Walmsley V Mrs. Richard S. Reynolds III, Ex-Officio Thurston R. Moore, Ex-Officio

By Invitation:

Alex Nyerges, Director Ms. Carol Amato David B. Bradley Ms. Suzanne Broyles Brian Haggard Ms. Joan W. Murphy Robin Nicholson Steve Pancham Ms. Nancy Parsons Ms. Alexis Vaughn Richard Woodward

Absent:

Thomas N. Allen Herbert A. Claiborne III Mrs. William T. Clarke Mrs. Whitt W. Clement John R. Curtis, Jr. Mrs. Bruce C. Gottwald Floyd D. Gottwald, Jr. Grant H. Griswold Margaret Freeman Howerton Jane Joel Knox Frances A. Lewis Charlotte M. Minor Charles L. Reed, Jr. Mrs. Hunter J. Smith Jane Bassett Spilman John R. Staelin Mrs. Suzanne T. Mastracco, Ex-Officio Richard G. Tilghman, Ex-Officio

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman, Dr. Herbert A. Claiborne, Jr. at 9:00 am.

II. MINUTES

Motion: proposed and seconded that the minutes of the Museum Expansion Committee meeting held on the 17th of November 2009 be approved as distributed on the 26th of January 2010. Motion carried.

III. DISCUSSION OF EXPANSION

At 9:01 am the meeting went into closed session to discuss matters related to the construction of the parking deck, expansion and sculpture garden.

Motion: proposed and seconded that the meeting go into closed session under Section 2.2-3711 (A) (9) and (30) of the Freedom of Information Act

for discussion of matters relating to specific gifts, bequests, and grants, and

for discussion of the terms and scope of the contracts for the expansion, sculpture garden and parking deck where discussion in an open session would adversely affect the bargaining position or negotiating strategy of the Museum.

Motion carried.

At 9:50 am, by motion proposed, seconded and carried, the meeting resumed in open session.

Motion: proposed by Dr. Claiborne and seconded by Mr. Douglass that the Committee certify that the closed session just held was conducted in compliance with Virginia State law, as set forth in the Certification Resolution distributed. Motion carried.

A roll call vote was taken, the results of which are outlined in the Certification Resolution.

Motion: proposed by Dr. Claiborne and seconded by Mr. Moore that the Committee approves making alterations to the architect's plan for the 1936 entrance patio to keep the original brick intact in accordance with the original design intent, making only slight modifications now, and allowing for future changes if necessary at a later date. Motion carried.

IV. **OTHER BUSINESS/ADJOURNMENT**

No additional business was brought before the committee and the meeting adjourned at 9:53 am.

Suzanne Broyles Secretary of the Museum

MOTION:	Dr. Claiborne	MEETING:	Museum Expansion Committee
SECOND:	Mr. Douglass	DATE:	17 February 2010

CERTIFICATION OF CLOSED MEETING

WHEREAS, the Museum Expansion Committee has convened a closed meeting on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of The Virginia Freedom of Information Act: and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by this Committee that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Museum Expansion Committee hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed meeting were heard, discussed or considered by the Museum Expansion Committee.

VOTE

AYES: Claiborne, Jr./Burrus/Dou	1glass/Grace/Pauley/Walm	sley/Reynolds/Moore
---------------------------------	--------------------------	---------------------

NAYS: None

[For each nay vote, the substance of the departure from the requirements of the Act should be described.]

ABSENT DURING VOTE:	None
ABSENT DURING MEETING:	Allen/Claiborne III/Clarke/Clement/Curtis/N. Gottwald/F. Gottwald/Griswold/Howerton/Knox/Lewis/Minor/Reed Smith//Spilman/Staelin/Mastracco/Tilghman
	Suzanne Broyles

Secretary of the Museum