Virginia Museum of Fine Arts **Draft** Minutes of the Art Acquisitions Sub-Committee Meeting Tuesday, January 12, 2021, 3:15pm Video Conference

There were present:

Tom Papa, Chair

Joan Brock

Edie Cabaniss

Cindy Conner

Ken Dye

Janet Geldzahler

David Goode

Meg Gottwald

Jeff Humber

Andy Lewis

Monroe Harris, Trustee President, Ex-officio

Jim Klaus, Foundation Co-President, Ex-officio

Lilo Ukrop, Foundation Co-President, Ex-officio

Absent:

Steve Markel

Michele Petersen

By Invitation:

Alex Nyerges, Director and Chief Executive Officer

Lynette Allston

Kay Baker

Candy Banks

Carol Ann Bischoff

Stephen Bonadies

Caprice Bragg

Marland Buckner

Charles Carroll

Valerie Cassel Oliver

Stephanie Cooperstein

Sylvain Cordier

Betty Crutcher

Birch Douglass

Sarah Eckhardt

Anne Edwards

Martha Glasser

Tom Gutenberger

Aiesha Halstead

Jil Harris

Jan Hatchette

Li Jian

Denise Keane, Foundation Liaison

Leo Mazow

Johanna Minich

Cindy Norwood, Office of the Attorney General

Sara O'Keefe

Christopher Oliver

Hubert Phipps

Susan Rawles

Pam Reynolds

John Henry Rice

Peter Schertz

Barry Shifman

Suzy Szasz Palmer

Michael Taylor

Ashlin Wilbanks

Colleen Yarger

I. CALL TO ORDER

Sub-Committee Chair Tom Papa called the meeting to order at 3:15pm.

II. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Mr. Papa reported there were no requests for public comment.

III. MINUTES APPROVAL

Motion:

proposed by Dr. Andy Lewis and seconded by Mr. Jeff Humber to approve the minutes of the September 16, 2020 meeting of the Art Acquisitions

Sub-Committee as distributed. Motion carried.

IV. PURCHASE, GIFT, AND LOAN CONSIDERATIONS

At 3:17pm the meeting went into closed session with the following motion:

Motion:

proposed by Mr. Papa and seconded by Ms. Joan Brock that the Art Acquisitions Sub-Committee meeting go into closed session to discuss proposed art purchases, Gifts, deaccessions, and loans. The relevant exemption is Section 2.2-3711(A)(6 and 10) of the Code of Virginia. Motion carried

At 5:04pm, by motion proposed, seconded, and carried, the meeting resumed in open session.

Motion:

proposed by Mr. Papa and seconded by Mr. Ken Dye that the Art Acquisitions Sub-Committee certify that the closed session just held was conducted in compliance with Virginia state law, as set forth in the Certification Resolution distributed. Motion carried.

A roll call vote was taken, the results of which are outlined in the Certification Resolution.

Motion: Proposed by Mr. Papa and seconded by Dr. Andy Lewis that the Art Acquisitions

Sub-Committee recommend to the Full Board of Trustees that they approve the purchase, gift, deaccession, and loan considerations as fully described in the meeting

packets. Motion carried.

V. OTHER BUSINESS/ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:05pm.

Recorded by: Stephanie Cooperstein

Executive Administrator to the Chief Strategic Officer and

Deputy Director for Strategic Planning, Government and Board Relations

MOTION: Tom Papa MEETING: Art Acquisitions Sub-Committee

SECOND: Edie Cabaniss DATE: January 12, 2021

CERTIFICATION OF CLOSED MEETING

WHEREAS, the Art Acquisitions Sub-Committee has convened a closed meeting on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of The Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 (A) of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by this Board that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Art Acquisitions Sub-Committee hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed meeting were heard, discussed or considered by the Art Acquisitions Sub-Committee.

VOTE

AYES: Papa / Brock / Cabaniss / Conner / Dye / Geldzahler / Goode / Gottwald / Humber / Lewis

NAYS: None

ABSENT DURING VOTE: None

ABSENT DURING MEETING: Markel / Peterson