Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Minutes of the Building Committee Meeting Tuesday, June 16, 2021, 9:30am Claiborne Robertson Room

There were present:

Charlie Whitaker, Chair

Marland Buckner

Edie Cabaniss

David Goode

Monroe Harris, Trustee President, Ex-officio

Absent:

Pamela Royal

By Invitation:

Alex Nyerges, Director and Chief Executive Officer

Jame Anderson, SmithGroup

Kay Baker

Candy Banks

Stephen Bonadies

Caprice Bragg

Stephanie Cooperstein

Monteil Crawley, SmithGroup

Betty Crutcher

Anne Edwards

Tom Gutenberger

Jan Hatchette

Jeff Humber

Veronica Jackson, SmithGroup

Jim Klaus, Foundation Co-President

Curt Manchester, Office of the Attorney General

Bob Mooney

Cindy Norwood, Office of the Attorney General

John O'Connor

Jav Olander

Steve Pancham, McDonough Bolyard Peck

Hossein Sadid

Dayton Schroeter, SmithGroup

Jim Shepherd, SmithGroup

Michael Taylor

Lilo Ukrop, Foundation Co-President

JimYatzeck, McDonough Bolyard Peck

Chris Wood, SmithGroup

Ting Xu

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Charlie Whitaker called the meeting to order at 9:31am.

II. MINUTES APPROVAL

Motion: Proposed by Mr. Whitaker and seconded by Mr. David Goode to approve the

minutes of the March 15, 2021, March 30, 2021 and March 31, 2021 meetings of the

Building Committee as distributed. Motion carried.

III. REPORT ON ARCHITECT SELECTION

Mr. Taylor indicated that the design firm of SmithGroup has been selected for the expansion and renovation of the museum. After describing some of the attributes of SmithGroup, Mr. Taylor invited representatives of the firm to the podium.

Ms. Jame Anderson, Principal-in-Charge, opened a presentation that was followed by introductions of the core members of the team that will handle the Museum project. A presentation then took place and was followed by Q&A.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:32am.

Recorded by: Caprice H. Bragg

Chief Strategy Officer and Deputy Director for Strategic Planning, Government and

Board Relations