Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Minutes of the Trustee Education Committee Meeting Tuesday, March 15, 2022, 11:15am Claiborne Robertson Room

There were present:

Jil Harris, Chair

Betty Crutcher, Vice Chair

Lynette Allston

Carol Ann Bischoff via videoconference; health

Anne Edwards

Martha Glasser via videoconference; personal (scheduling)

Suzy Szasz Palmer via videoconference; health

Michel Zajur

Absent:

Joan Brock

Gil Bland

Ken Dye

Satya Rangarajan

Rupa Tak

Ashlin Wilbanks

By Invitation:

Jeffrey Allison

Kay Baker

Candy Banks

Maura Bisceglia

Kelly Bisogno, Virginia Department of Education

Caprice Bragg

Lee Ceperich

Stephanie Cooperstein

Celeste Fetta

Cherry Gardner

Carolyn Garner, Foundation Liaison

Jan Hatchette

Cindy Norwood, Office of the Attorney General

Mimi Ryland, Council President

Michael Taylor

I. CALL TO ORDER

Vice Chair Betty Crutcher called the meeting to order at 11:17am.

II. MINUTES APPROVAL

Motion: Proposed by Ms. Jil Harris and seconded by Ms. Anne Edwards to approve the

minutes of the December 1, 2021 Trustee Education Committee meeting as

distributed. Motion carried.

III. EDUCATION UPDATES

Director of Education Celeste Fetta presented the updated design for the interactive gallery entitled *A Closer Look*, which will explore the ways various cultures use public art to share their history and identities. This hands-on educational experience will open on May 1, 2022, and feature hidden information that can be found using the exhibit's magnifying glasses.

IV. VMFA ON THE ROAD/STATEWIDE UPDATES

Mr. Jeffrey Allison, Manager of Statewide Programs and Exhibitions and the Paul Mellon Collection Educator, shared that VMFA hosted 250 museum professionals during the 2022 Virginia Association of Museums Conference. The Education Committee then toured Revealing and Obscuring Identity: Portraits from the Permanent Collection on VMFA on the Road.

V. OTHER BUSINESS /ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn the meeting was seconded and approved by the Committee at 12:05pm.

Recorded by: Stephanie Cooperstein

Executive Administrator to the Chief Strategy Officer and

Deputy Director for Strategic Planning, Government and Board Relations