Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Minutes of the Building Committee Meeting Tuesday, December 6, 2022, 11:45am Claiborne Robertson Room

There were present:

Brian Ball

Janet Geldzahler

Andy Lewis

Pamela Royal

Lynette Allston, Trustee President, Ex-officio

Absent:

Monroe Harris, Chair

Jim Cheng

By Invitation:

Alex Nyerges, Director and Chief Executive Officer

Jame Anderson, SmithGroup

Kay Baker

Candy Banks

Caprice Bragg

Edie Cabaniss

Stephanie Cooperstein

Courtney Freeman

Mike Gilbert, Department of General Services

Ann Goettmann

Jalyn Grays, SmithGroup

Andrew Harris

Denise Keane

Curt Manchester, Office of the Attorney General

Cynthia Marquez, Office of the Attorney General

Bob Mooney

Casev Nye

Jay Olander, VMFA Foundation President

Colin Robinson, Gilbane

Dayton Schroeter, SmithGroup

Michael Taylor

Ting Xu, VMFA Foundation Vice President

I. CALL TO ORDER

Trustee President Lynette Allston called the meeting to order at 11:50am.

II. MINUTES APPROVAL

Motion: Proposed by Ms. Janet Geldzahler and seconded by Dr. Andy Lewis to

approve the minutes of the September 14, 2022 meeting of the Building

Committee as distributed. Motion carried.

III. EXPANSION AND RENOVATION PROJECT UPDATES

Director and Chief Executive Officer Alex Nyerges announced that Gilbane Building Company was selected as the construction manager at risk. He then introduced Gilbane Project Manager, Colin Robinson to the committee and noted that the Gilbane team has begun work on establishing an updated timeline and budget for the project. More information will be shared with the committee in 2023.

V. DESIGN CONCEPTS FOR NEW WING

SmithGroup, led by architect Dayton Schroeter, provided preliminary schematic design concepts for the building exterior of the expansion. He observed that data gathered by the community engagement committee informed the design ideas. At the end of the presentation, Mr. Schroeter and Ms. Jame Anderson answered questions from the committee.

VI. ADJOURNMENT/OTHER BUSINESS

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn the meeting was seconded and approved by the Committee at 1:00pm.

Recorded by: Stephanie Cooperstein,

Executive Administrator to the Chief Strategic Officer and Deputy Director for Strategic Planning, Government and Board Relations