Virginia Museum of Fine Arts <u>Draft</u> Minutes of the External Affairs Committee Meeting Tuesday, December 5, 2023, 11:15am Founder's Conference Room

There were present:

Brian Ball

Gilbert Bland

Cindy Conner

Ken Dye

Janet Geldzahler

Martha Glasser

Ann Goettman

Ken Johnson

Sara O'Keefe

Whitney Murphy

Amanda Qreitem

Pam Reynolds

Pam Royal

Lynette Allston, Trustee President, ex-officio

Absent:

Rooz Dadabhoy

Bill Keyes

Michele Petersen

By Invitation:

Alex Nyerges, Director and Chief Executive Officer

Caprice Bragg

Loren Brueggen

Sarah Burgess

Jasmonn Coleman

Stephanie Cooperstein

Anne Edwards

Erin Elder

Emily Franklin

Courtney Freeman

Marcia Gilliam

Jan Hatchette

Ukay Jackson

Deb Love, Office of the Attorney General

Colleen Milewski

Lizzie Oliver

Amanda Qreitem

Christina Shin

Michael Taylor

Kimberly Wilson

I. CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Ken Dye called the meeting to order at 11:22am.

II. MINUTES APPROVAL

Motion:

Proposed by Mr. Dye and seconded by Ms. Cindy Conner to approve the minutes of the September 12, 2023 External Affairs Committee meeting as distributed. Motion

carried.

III. COLLECTION UPDATE

At 11:24am the meeting went into closed session with the following motion:

Motion: Proposed by Mr. Dye and seconded by Dr. Pam Royal that the External Affairs Committee meeting go into closed session to discuss proposed art deaccessions. The relevant exemption is Section 2.2-3711(A) (6 and 10) of the Code of Virginia. Motion carried.

Motion: Proposed by Mr. Dye, seconded, and carried that the meeting come out of closed session and to certify the closed session just held was conducted in compliance with Virginia's state law, as set forth in the Certification Resolution distributed. Motion carried.

> At 11:34am, a roll call vote was taken, the results of which are outlined in the Certification Resolution included with these minutes, and the meeting resumed in open session.

ADVANCEMENT AND MEMBERSHIP REPORT IV.

On behalf of Mr. Tom Gutenberger, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (VMFA) Chief Development Officer and Deputy Director for Advancement, Mr. Jasmonn Coleman, VMFA Assistant Deputy Director of Development, provided an update on fundraising and membership efforts, noting that total gifts and commitments for fiscal year 2024 (FY24) are at \$6.2 million (142% over FY23). He reported that campaign fundraising continues to progress.

V. COMMUNICATIONS

Ms. Jan Hatchette, VMFA Chief Communications Officer and Deputy Director for Communications and Marketing, provided an overview of the media used to promote the exhibitions, Willie Anne Wright: Artist and Alchemist and Dawoud Bey: Elegy. She then shared communication plans for the upcoming Samurai Armor from the Collection of Ann and Gabriel Barbier-Mueller exhibition.

OTHER BUSINESS/ADJOURNMENT VI.

There being no further business, Mr. Dye called for a motion to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded and approved by the committee at 11:52am.

Recorded by: Colleen Milewski

Project Coordinator

MOTION: Mr. Ken Dye MEETING: External Affairs Committee

Meeting

SECOND: Dr. Pam Royal DATE: December 5, 2023

CERTIFICATION OF CLOSED MEETING

WHEREAS, the External Affairs Committee has convened a closed meeting on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of The Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 (A) of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by this Board that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Executive & Governance Committee hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed meeting were heard, discussed or considered by the Executive Committee.

VOTE

AYES: Ball / Bland / Conner / Dye / Geldzahler / Glasser / Goettman / O'Keefe / Reynolds / Royal

NAYS: None

ABSENT DURING (IN-PERSON) VOTE: None

ABSENT DURING MEETING: Dadabhoy / Johnson / Keyes / Petersen