Virginia Museum of Fine Arts <u>Draft</u> Minutes of the Art Acquisitions Sub-Committee Meeting Tuesday, December 3, 2024, 3:00pm Claiborne Robertson Room

There were present:

Matt Cooper, Chair

Janet Geldzahler, Vice Chair, virtual (medical-caregiver)

Brian Ball

Cindy Conner

Betty Neal Crutcher

Ken Dye

Jil Harris

Sarah O'Keefe

Christina Shin

Lynette Allston, Trustee President, Ex-officio

Absent:

Tom Papa

By Invitation:

Alex Nyerges, Director and Chief Executive Officer

Alexis Assam

Kay Baker

Dayal Baxani

Caprice Bragg

David Cary

Stephanie Cooperstein

Sylvain Cordier

Theresa Cunningham

Katie Domurat

Birch Douglass

Sarah Eckhardt

Courtney Freeman

Marcia Gilliam

Anne Goettman

Aiesha Halstead

Courtney Hargrove

Andrew Harris

Jan Hatchette

Siera Hyte

Sarah Kennel

Sally Marvin

Leo Mazow

Whitney Murphy

Christopher Oliver

Valerie Cassel Oliver

Amanda Qreitem

Susie Rawles

John Henry Rice

Marie Royce

Anne Smith

Michael Taylor Iya Tsyrkot

I. CALL TO ORDER

Committee Chair Matt Cooper called the meeting to order at 3:02pm.

II. MINUTES APPROVAL

Motion: Proposed by Mr. Cooper and seconded by Ms. Christina Shin to approve the

minutes of the September 24, 2024 Art Acquisitions Sub-committee meeting as

distributed. Motion carried.

III. PURCHASE, GIFT, AND LOAN CONSIDERATIONS

At 3:03pm, the meeting went into closed session with the following motion:

Motion: Proposed by Mr. Cooper and seconded by Dr. Betty Neal Crutcher that the Art

Acquisitions Sub-committee go into closed session to discuss proposed art purchases, gifts, deaccessions, and loans. The relevant exemption is Section 2.2-

3711(A) (6 and 10) of the Code of Virginia. Motion carried.

At 4:44pm, the meeting resumed in open session with the following motion:

Motion: Proposed by Mr. Cooper and seconded that the Art Acquisitions Sub-committee

come out of closed session and to certify that the closed session just held was conducted in compliance with Virginia state law, as set forth in the Certification

Resolution distributed. Motion carried.

A roll call vote was taken, the results of which are outlined in the Certification Resolution included with these minutes.

Motion: Proposed by Mr. Cooper and seconded by Ms. Sara O'Keefe that the Art

Acquisitions Sub-committee recommend to the Full Board of Trustees that they approve the art purchases, gifts, deaccessions, and loan considerations as fully

described in the meeting packets. Motion carried.

Motion: Proposed by Mr. Cooper and seconded by Mr. Ken Dye that the Art Acquisitions

Sub-committee recommend to the Full Board of Trustees that Mr. Alex Nyerges, VMFA Director and Chief Executive Officer and Dr. Michael Taylor, Artistic Director and Chief Curator be authorized to accept gifts of art offered to the

museum between December 5 and December 31, 2024.

VI. OTHER BUSINESS

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn was made, seconded, and approved by the committee at 4:45pm.

Recorded by: Stephanie Cooperstein, Executive Administrator MOTION: Matt Cooper MEETING: Art Acquisitions Sub-committee

SECOND: Christina Shin DATE: December 3, 2024

CERTIFICATION OF CLOSED MEETING

WHEREAS, the Art Acquisitions Sub-committee has convened a closed meeting on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of The Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 (A) of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by this Board that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Art Acquisitions Sub-committee hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed meeting were heard, discussed or considered by the Art Acquisitions Sub-committee.

VOTE

AYES: Ball / Conner / Cooper / Crutcher / Dye / Geldzahler / Harris / O'Keefe / Shin

NAYS: None

ABSENT DURING MEETING: Papa