Chronology of Chinese Dynasties

Xia dynasty	2100-1600 BC
Shang dynasty	1600-1045 BC
Western Zhou dynasty	1046-771 BC
Eastern Zhou dynasty	771–256 BC
Qin dynasty	221-206 BC
Han dynasty	206 BC-220 AD
Western Han dynasty	206 BC-9 AD
Eastern Han dynasty	25–220
Three Kingdoms period	220–280
Western Jin dynasty	265–316
Eastern Jin dynasty	317–420
Southern and Northern dynasties	386–589
Sui dynasty	581-618
Tang dynasty	618–907
Five Dynasties & Ten Kingdoms	907–960
Liao dynasty	916–1125
Song dynasty	960–1279
Northern Song dynasty	960–1127
Southern Song dynasty	1127–1279
Jin dynasty	1115–1234
Yuan dynasty	1279–1368
*Ming dynasty	1368–1644
*Qing dynasty	1644–1911
Republic period	1912–1949
People's Republic period	1949-present

^{*}Dynasties living in Forbidden City